Crocheting with plastic bags

Published by

on

Yep, it’s exactly what you see! Yarn made from plastic bags.

How I made it?! Easy!

It’s funny because every time we went shopping we would take paper bags. Now I don’t bother to ask them for papers because I don’t mind (and I actually want) plastic bags. They are so cool for crochet projects. Strong and kinda shiny after all.

I used it together with my old yarn to add a little more color since all of my plastic bags were white.

That pattern is very easy!

1) Start with magic ring

2) 10 sc inside the ring

3) Tide it up

4) Join with sl sc

5) *4 ch, skip one sc, sl in next sc *, repeat * 4x.

6) *2 ch, 4 dc in the loop made from the 4 ch below it, sl in next sc (sc between those two 4 ch loops)*, repeat *4x.

7) (how many ch. you want) – this is the length of the chain between flowers

8) sl in 3rd (or fourth) ch from the hook – it will make a loop

9) 10 sc in the loop

10) repeat from no 4) for as long as you want

Off I go to make some more yarn 🙂

NightOwlCraftingand then, she {snapped}Photobucket

Funky Junk's Sat Nite Special Beyond The Picket Fence

15 responses to “Crocheting with plastic bags”

  1. Ashley Sisk Avatar

    That’s so neat – I never would have thought of that.

    Like

  2. Emily Avatar

    What a great idea! They turned out so well!

    Like

  3. Jill Avatar
    Jill

    That is so fabulous!! Great recycling and the flowers look so pretty!

    Thanks for linking to the Creating Success Worldwide blog hop!! Hope you’ll come back again next week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success
    http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Like

  4. Rebekah Avatar

    That is adorable.

    Like

  5. Handy Man, Crafty Woman Avatar

    I like that you added a touch of yarn. Great idea! Thank you for linking to Wicked Awesome Wednesday.

    Like

  6. Just Jaime Avatar

    Cool idea!

    Like

  7. Polish Mama on the Prairie Avatar

    I’m going to be honest. I thought you had gone crazy at first. I thought “Plastic bag yarn? Whaaa?” But after seeing what you made with them, I absolutely changed my mind quickly and thought “Brilliant!” Very pretty.

    Like

  8. Christine Avatar

    Wow, I tried that once, making yarn from plastic bags. It was such a static-y mess, I just gave up. Your crochet projects are so cute! I love doing flowers…..

    Like

  9. Grace N Avatar

    What a fabulous idea!!! I love it! I’m just learning to crochet and have lots of bags on hand…so I have to try this!

    Like

  10. QMM Avatar

    Glad to run across someone else using the plarn. I have done about 10 items for sell at our Charity Picnic the last Saturday in August. You can find them on my art/crochet page under my header. I am gonna use your idea for the flower banners. Pop over for a visit.
    QMM

    Like

  11. Cheryl@ Sew Can Do Avatar

    Great idea! You’ve been featured at Sew Can Do’s Craftastic Monday party today. Stop by & grab a Featured On button. Thanks for linking!

    Like

  12. Elisabeth Avatar

    Very cool idea and pretty to look at. I like the combination of yarn and plarn. Thanks for sharing this very nice tutorial:)

    Like

  13. K. The Littlest Crafter Avatar

    Awesome! I totally want to try this!!

    Like

  14. Donna Avatar
    Donna

    I thought “plastic bags” I’ve got to check this out…I couldn’t believe my eyes..Fantastic job. they are absolutely beautiful….good job…I recycle my plastic bags but if you are serious I would mail them to you.

    Like

    1. Polish Mom Photographer Avatar

      Donna, if that’s not a problem for you I surely could use your plastic bags…
      Email me for further talk at farfar.awe(at)gmail.com

      Like

Don’t be shy and let me know what’s hiding in your head!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.