365 Self-Portrait Project (week 38th)

Published by

on

Since I started this project I normally try to post one or two not self-portrait related posts in between each Friday. This week I haven’t done that. 

The husband was gone for 3 days so I was extra busy with the kids and the puppy, and with enjoying our time together. The weather has been so pretty I couldn’t stay indoor. Oh… how I love this time of the year.

We walked a lot. With the dog and without her.

Perspective

365/260

On Friday we exercised a little. The house seemed empty without my husband so there was a lot of music playing and almost no TV. Actually we were goofing off for the most of the time but I was able to captured a few moments in which I looked like I was really exercising 😉

365/261

On Sunday I spent a few hours playing with self-portraits.

I had an idea and I wanted to make a use out of it.

I love reflection. I always have.

Since I got into photography I always try to play with capturing reflections. Using mirrors. Tiny mirrors. Small mirrors. Big mirrors. Everything works.

This is a series I kept from when I was in college playing with an old film camera which I got from my brother. Oh, how I loved this camera. I wish I had it with me here in US. It is somewhere in my parents house back in Poland.

So this last Sunday I wanted to play with reflections again. I took out my tripod and after a few shots of this sort:

I had to stop because there was somebody trying to knock my tripod over. So, not intentionally but very spontaneously I had stared taking pictures of that somebody from high above. 


She was in heaven. Finally I was paying attention to her and this is what she was working towards that entire time. She is always happy when we pay attention to her AND ONLY HER.

Then I thought it would be great to just come down on the floor and take some shots of both of us. We both had so much fun. No. 1 was just looking at me like I was crazy or something. She didn’t want to play with us. She was doing her own stuff.

365/262

3 days the husband was gone. During those days we had walked a lot. I would pack everybody up, put them on leashes and we would walk. Sometimes we would go to the park and play. Other times we would just walk around the neighbourhood.

365/263

On Monday I was totally out of ideas.

At some point I took the camera and the tripod outside. I set it up, pushed the button and walked around while the camera was taking pictures. This was the best shot from the series. I wasn’t even trying to do something else. I thought: “That will do. There is no reason to lose sleep over a picture”.

At least I took some good pictures of No. 1


Both my kids love the tripod. There is something magnetic about this tool.

365/264

On Tuesday I woke up to an EMPTY COFFEE JAR!!!!!!!

I don’t know how that happened but it did happen and I had to fix it. I packed both kids and we went for a long walk to the nearest coffee shop. After I had my coffee the world finally got some colors. My mood totally improved and we took our time while walking back.

I was positively surprised how good No. 1 had behaved and how good she had walked with me. She got tired and bored a few times but a short break took her mind off of it and she was ready to walk again.

365/265

On Wednesday I spent most of the day writing an essay for Bonbon Break. Next month they gonna publish my post in which I talk about this 365 Project. I am really excited about it. 

So while I was trying to focus and come up with something interesting my Little Darlin did not want to sleep nor doing anything else beside sitting on my lap.

365/266

Few days ago while taking the puppy for a quick pee I had spotted this place. Immediately I thought about taking a self-portrait there.

This morning I woke up before everybody. Before I took the dog outside I hesitate for a while but finally I grabbed the bag with the tripod and my camera and I headed to this place. 

The street next to it was pretty busy at this time of the day. Everybody was driving to work, the offices across the street. I stood there for a while thinking. I was pretty intimidated by all that traffic. I didn’t expect that while I was planning to take those pictures. I was about to walk away when I changed my mind. I’m happy I did.

I love the colors of the threes and leaves. I love everything about this place and how wonderful scenery it creates, because of that I couldn’t pick a favorite shot. I like them all.

In The Picture

In a few minutes I was done with taking self-portraits and it felt pretty good to realized that I finally faced my demons. Up till this morning, in order to take self-portrait in a public places, I would hide my camera in a way in which it was hard to tell if it was turned ON. ha! I can say, I master this art 😉

Anyway, this is our growing Miss No.3

She has gotten so big. Hasn’t she.

Hope everything is well with you all and that you all enjoy this beautiful Fall weather!

Photo Art FridayKleinworth & Co. Project 366 Rewind

62 responses to “365 Self-Portrait Project (week 38th)”

  1. Merike Avatar

    Hi 🙂 I love too this time. Autumn picture is so gorgeous:)

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you, Merike!

      Like

  2. Molly Avatar

    I absolutely LOVE your work. Small mirrors… what an epic idea, I am going to play with that myself this weekend. You have inspired me… *take more self portraits. Thank you!

    Mollyxxx

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      Molly I am glad to read such comment from so BRAVE self-portraits taker 🙂

      Like

  3. Sommerfugl Design Avatar
    Sommerfugl Design

    I love your reflection shots!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you! am addicted to reflections!

      Like

  4. Bonnie Avatar
    Bonnie

    You are so creative! I’m always inspired by your work. Your image for PAF is adorable. Thanks so much for sharing your talents with Photo Art Friday.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you, Bonnie! thank you so much!

      Like

  5. tiarasandtantrums Avatar

    I like the idea of using the compacts for reflection shots! (ps – when my husband is out of town or simply not here – the tv is NEVER on either!)

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      it is such a relaxing time when the tv is not on. when I can hear my and only mine thoughts 🙂

      Like

  6. Danielle Batog Avatar

    Love the mirror shots! Isn’t funny…or TV never gets turned on when my husband is not home 😉

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      yeah! I do miss my husband when he is gone, but I DO NOT miss the TV and the news he watches all the time!!!

      Like

  7. Leovi Avatar

    As always wonderful works of art. I like the compositions with mirrors.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you so much, Leovi!

      Like

  8. Emily Avatar

    This weather is great isn’t it?! I love your reflections, the only mirrors in our house is the one in our bathroom and the babys play mirror.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      we had one big mirror but my firstborn broke it. The one in the bathroom is hard to photograph in because it is always too dark. I miss having big mirrors which I can move around!

      Like

  9. weecottagewonders Avatar

    always a joyous journey visiting your week in review. this one shows me a happy and free-spirited woman embracing the wonders of her Life, as it is AND as it is NOT!! YAY!!!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      Currie, it was definitely a great week!

      Like

  10. theartfuldiva Avatar

    Once your hubby gets home, you’ll be ready for 3 days all on your own!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      No.2 won’t let me go anywhere. She is stuck to my side almost 24/7. There isn’t a person who can’t stand her for more than 30 minutes. Even her father. She is a piece of work.

      Like

  11. Evelyn in Oregon Avatar

    How fun! That reflection “selfie” with the two compact mirrors is so creative! Love your exercising images….and the ones of you and the little one! Wonderful.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      my “staged” exercising image. lol
      I wish I had the power to exercise like that every day… not just for a picture 😉

      Like

  12. NatureFootstep Photo Avatar

    you will have a lot of fun looking at cool shots later on when the kids are moving out. Love what you are doing.
    What have wordpress done to the commenting system? it is spoiled. 😦

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      I’ve come to hate the commenting system here. I just hate it!!!

      and thank you for your words. I am sure I’ll have a good laugh about THIS time when I am older! 🙂

      Like

  13. Valerie Avatar
    Valerie

    Your photos show your love of your children and the outdoors. It is wonderful to see. Cute puppy. Valerie

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      Valerie, I do love outdoors and I love my children. I am glad to hear that it’s all in my pictures! thank you!

      Like

  14. Treebird Avatar

    I love this set particularly the reflection shots. Your puppy is so cute in the leaves. Well done on conquering your fear. I am not so keen on taking a self portrait in the house!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      I feel much more comfortable inside. I am ok with taking selfies outside when i know nobody is near by or when my camera is hidden 🙂

      Like

  15. Linda Kittmer Avatar

    What an incredible self-portrait! I love your use of the small mirrors and black and white. Fantastic composition. Your photography is wonderful!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you, Linda!

      Like

  16. Ida Avatar

    Goodness where do I begin, This post was filled with lots of very fun and interesting photos. I was intrigued by the “mirror/reflection” series.
    Loved the posts for PAF with your little girl (#1) hiding amongst the Ivy by the tree. Also loved the photo before that one. Then your set of Selfies on the walk and your pictures of your sweet little puppy were just wonderful.
    Totally enjoyed this entire post.
    Also want to say thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such positive comments.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you so much, Ida! and thank you for visiting back.

      Like

  17. Roberta Avatar

    Looks like a full and wonderfully active life..

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      “full house” indeed 😉

      Like

  18. Lil' Suburban Homestead Avatar

    I love all of your photos Ewa! One of my faves is your little one peeking behind the tree with the ivy behind, I love the ones of you and your little baby on the carpet and your dog is beautiful!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you! she is a little character, you know! she loves to goofing off a lot, and this was one of those moments! 🙂

      Like

  19. Leanne Avatar

    Love the reflections in the hand mirror (and all the others actually) , & the ones of you & your little one lying under the tripod are really lovely.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you, Leanne!

      Like

  20. Heather Avatar

    Your images are so inspiring. I’m new to self portraiture but have totally fallen in love with it.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you Heather! I love your self portraits as well. and I really LOVE your arm tattoo!!!

      Like

  21. dramaqueensmum Avatar

    I love yoga. My daughter will never let me do it though. She jumps on me & lays on me.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      mine used to do that all the time. now as she is older she tries to do what I am doing.

      Like

  22. mgatwood Avatar

    Great peek into your week. I love all the selfies. Three days as a single parent is hard work! glad you had fun.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      it was very hard. I was just thinking about being a single parent and I HAVE NO IDEA how they do it!!!

      Like

  23. Tamar Strauss-Benjamin Avatar

    Love the exercising pictures! You capture such beautiful images!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you! they will be great to look back at in a few years 😉

      Like

  24. urbanmuser Avatar

    As I have said before, I love the way you document your everyday life with these self-portraits. Just perfect! Thanks for linking up this month.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thanks for visiting!

      Like

  25. Sarah Halstead (@sarahmhalstead) Avatar

    Beautiful photos! You are one talented multi tasking mama.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      Thank you so much, Sarah!

      Like

  26. Andrea Avatar

    Such a cute puppy and cute girls. Great reflection shot–it’s very cool. I also love that first exercise shot. You capture a lot about life in that shot with the dog in the crate, your oldest on her potty and the baby on the floor. Glad you got outside a lot–such pretty fall colors where you live.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      I have to have the dog in the crate as she wouldn’t let me to do anything. She would jump all over everybody. Me especially.
      I am really glad you like those pictures. I wasn’t sure if I should post them. Don’t know why, actually… just… there is something in them I didn’t feel very comfortable showing them. But at the end here we go. I did it. 🙂

      Like

  27. Sandra Avatar

    I just love your reflection in the mirror shots and that hand is really original! Lovely shots with your little girls as well!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you, Sandra!!!

      Like

  28. kleinworthco Avatar
    kleinworthco

    I am always so very impressed with how creative you get with your selfies. I always love seeing what you will do next. Love these!

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you, Gina! I try to get creative but with each week it gets harder and harder. Like today, for example. It’s getting late and I have no idea what to do, what kind of picture to take. ugh…

      Like

  29. Shirley LeMay Avatar

    Oh, those reflection selfies are really, really cool! Must try them! I loved looking at you and your little one’s adventures.

    Like

  30. galleryjuana Avatar

    great selfies! Being out of coffee and not knowing is certainly a drag. Nice save for the day!

    Like

  31. Zena (healingmoments) Avatar

    Wonderful, your photos always amaze me

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      thank you so much!!!

      Like

  32. Krystyn Avatar

    Fall is in full force there, isn’t it?

    I love that #2 is all about attention..well, not for your sake. But, I totally get it. #3 is at that stage now, too.

    Like

    1. Mom Photographer Avatar

      not for my sake, that’s for sure 😉

      Like

Don’t be shy and let me know what’s hiding in your head!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.