Beautiful irises and their funny names

As I promised in yesterday’s post today will be all about irises and their names. Funny names.

IRIS from Greek means “rainbow“. Iris was a messenger-goddess who rode rainbows between heaven and earth to deliver messages from Olympus ๐Ÿ™‚ Interesting.

kimklassencafe


As I said yesterday, I’m not a big fan of those flowers. Maybe because they bloom only once a year and for not very long, but visiting Nola’s Iris Garden I found for myslef one veriety that I fell in love with:

Some of them if you know what they mean could be used as a letter/message to somebody. Like those three belowe.

It’s actually a pretty neat idea, I think!

Some of the sound like a movie or a song title ๐Ÿ™‚


That would be it for today. Tomorrow more of the Nola’s Iris Garden, a few horses and a cow ๐Ÿ™‚

Photobucket

12 thoughts on “Beautiful irises and their funny names”

  1. Beautiful! That first photo looks like they are growing like wildflowers. Coincidentally I have a post for tomorrow on irises where I explain why so many people think they change color over the years.

    Happy WW!

Thank you for stopping by. I hope you like what you see and read (not always in proper English, though). Feel free to leave a comment love and don't forget to check it back and keep the discussion going

