The best way to start Monday – Cinnamon Butterfly

In my opinion there is nothing wrong with Mondays…, but I totally understand those who hate them…

“I don’t like Monday” Polish movie (very funny, believe me!) from 1971  – watching it is a one way how to enter Monday with a good mood.

More tasty and multi-international way is to have a fresh-baked cinnamon butterflies for breakfast:

This is the recipe:

  • 7 g active dry yeast (one teaspoon = 3.1 g)
  • 1/2 cup lukewarm water
  • 4 Tbps melted butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 very small eggs
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom (I skipped it)
  • 2 1/4 cups plain flour
  • filling: 4 Tbps soft butter; 1/4 cup sugar mixed with 1 Tbp cinnamon
  • glaze: 1 small egg mixed with 1 Tbp milk; some crushed sugar cubes (don’t skip the sugar otherwise the buns won’t be sweet enough);
  • you can put some almond flakes on top as well or make a glaze (I didn’t have almonds or ingredients for glaze so I skipped it)

For directions go to Kitchen Unplugged.

For direction in Polish go to Motylki z Cynamonem.

I made the dough last night and kept it in the fridge till this morning.

To make the dough last night took me about 10 minutes.

This morning I spent additional 10 minutes to roll the dough out, put cinnamon-sugar-butter filling, roll the dough up, and cut.

10 minutes of waiting for them to bake :)

Very easy to make, and very tasty! Worth to try it out!

MyMeatlessMondaysPhotobucketWordish Wednesday

Happy Monday, everybody!

23 thoughts on “The best way to start Monday – Cinnamon Butterfly”

  1. I am looking forward to trying these. They sound delicious, and it’s especially good to have something so fast for the morning, with just a bit of work the night before.

  2. They look delicious! I am sure there’s a way to ruin them, though… and I bet I’d find it. For some reason I have the worst time baking with yeast!

    1. Jamie, I’m not very good with yeast as well. So many time I’ve tried to make a bread, and it didn’t come out very good. The same with pizza crust – the taste is ok, but it doesn’t want to rise for some reason. Those cinnamon butterly, though, are different…. You should give it a try.

Thank you for stopping by. I hope you like what you see and read (not always in proper English, though). Feel free to leave a comment love and don't forget to check it back and keep the discussion going

